A love poem about the everyday kind of love…and saying yes

{I am finding it very healing as I recover from this traumatic brain injury to actually read my old poetry…and to paint. Just a little. Here is a poem that Brian is posting for me today that I wrote several years ago for a friend who was getting married.}

barefootbarn_lisa_brianSaying Yes.
Again and Again.

I loved you
long before I ever met you.

Long before I ever knew
the contours
of your face,

before I ever wrapped my arms
around your waist;

before I ever knew
what made you
laugh or cry,
scared or feel alone.

I loved you long before I said

YES.

Yes
to your kisses
and comforting embrace

Yes
to snuggling with you
and making love with you

Yes
to spending the rest of my life
with you.

But what I am discovering lately
is this:

The funny thing about love
is that you have to
keep saying

YES.

Yes
to trash night and
cleaning the bathroom

Yes
to sharing a bank account
and a mortgage

Yes
to long labors
and sleepless nights

Yes
to unexpected losses
and missed opportunities

Yes
to being vulnerable
and choosing to join each other
when we’d rather jump ship.

We have to say yes –
to all of it –
the happy and ecstatic moments
as well as the sad and mournful moments.

We have to keep saying yes
year after year –
and sometimes
minute
by
minute!

We have to choose to say yes,
this moment,
this breath.

So on the day I stand
in front of our family and friends,
I’ll say yes to you –
in that moment,
with that breath,

and all the breaths
I am to have.

Lisa A. McCrohan, © 2010

23 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rachel
    Feb 14, 2013 @ 11:49:36

    Oh Lisa, this is just absolutely beautiful!! I want to frame it and read it every day.

    Reply

  2. Lisa A. McCrohan
    Feb 14, 2013 @ 20:42:42

    awwww, you are too beautiful, Rachel! Love you, Lisa

    Reply

  3. Rev Dani Lynn
    Feb 14, 2013 @ 23:59:23

    I hope things are coming along well for you Lisa. Love & Light.

    Reply

    • Lisa A. McCrohan
      Feb 16, 2013 @ 08:58:43

      Dani, I so appreciate your thoughts! Yes, things are getting better! Off to the neurologist in a bit here. It’s a slow journey…but already i see it as a gift. More to come. I am so grateful for your “presence,” Dani. Love, Lisa

      Reply

  4. David J. Bauman
    Feb 15, 2013 @ 00:10:02

    “After all these years?” But you two look like newly weds! :) Lovely sentiments and fitting poem for the day.

    Reply

  5. recoverythrumylens
    Feb 15, 2013 @ 08:44:19

    very touching….

    Reply

    • Lisa A. McCrohan
      Feb 16, 2013 @ 09:00:12

      Dear heart, thank you! I look forward to seeing your blog more and reading about your recovery. Have you met Robyn at Through The Healing Lens? Check out my Blog Roll. You two should meet! Love, Lisa

      Reply

  6. brendamarroy
    Feb 15, 2013 @ 13:11:17

    Lisa, Your poem is incredibly beautiful and you and your hubby are adorable.
    You mentioned brain injury on facebook and I’m wondering what happened to you. Are you okay?

    Reply

    • Lisa A. McCrohan
      Feb 16, 2013 @ 09:01:40

      Brenda, yep, a TBI (traumatic brain injury). Me and a treadmill. I didn’t realize it was on (I was being quite mindless) and I stepped on it, fell on it, got thrown off and hit another treadmill. BUT, as I KNOW YOU will get, it already is a gift. I’m treating it that way. I’m not sure I can put it all into words just yet, but it is a gift. I am mending, in many ways. Love to you, dear Brenda. I’m so grateful for you presence on here!

      Reply

  7. Lauren @ Hobo Mama
    Feb 17, 2013 @ 04:39:18

    This is beautiful, and so true!

    Reply

    • Lisa A. McCrohan
      Feb 18, 2013 @ 07:58:17

      Thank you, Lauren! We haven’t been in touch lately! It’s good to hear from you! I’ve got to go over and check out the latest that’s happening with you, dear mama! Love to you, Lisa

      Reply

  8. Professions for PEACE
    Feb 17, 2013 @ 20:14:41

    Lisa, this is one of the most romantic things I’ve ever read (and I adore romantic poetry!). You and your beloved family are all a gift to the world as you shine your love for each other out in to the world. God Bless you. Love, Gina

    Reply

    • Lisa A. McCrohan
      Feb 18, 2013 @ 08:03:42

      Gina, I’ll have to share some of my other “love poems”…very sultry and sensual…Just haven’t shared them here yet! Thank you for your beautiful words…yes, part of our wedding vows were about letting the love between us flow out into the world. Love to you guys, Lisa

      Reply

  9. JanBeek
    Feb 26, 2013 @ 00:47:36

    That was absolutely beautiful, Lisa. I love your poem. Thank you for sharing it with us. I am sure your friend for whom you initially wrote it was very touched… and now you have touched a host of WordPress readers, too. Bless you! I hope you find your way clear to write that kind of poetry again in the not to distant future. It is in you!

    Reply

    • Lisa A. McCrohan
      Feb 27, 2013 @ 07:33:21

      Jan, yes, you are so right on…poetry is in me. I actually have a few hundred poems I’ve already written through the years! It’s just sharing them…little by little when I feel the movement. Thank you, Jan, for your encouragement! It really means so much. As you know, it can take a lot to share from such a tender place. Ultimately, Jan, that’s what my writing is to be about — sharing my poetry. That’s always been the movement within me. Your comment encourages me to do it more and more. Blessings, Lisa

      Reply

  10. Eline
    Apr 23, 2013 @ 08:19:30

    I love this poem, Lisa :) Very well written and quite relevant for me, so thank you! <3

    Reply

    • Lisa A. McCrohan
      Apr 23, 2013 @ 22:14:14

      Eline, I have been seeing your posts on my email inbox…beautiful titles that draw me in! I must sit and read them soon. I am holding two little ones who have been sick for the last week (major throw up…and the other end, too!). Your works are beautiful, dear Eline. Beautiful. Love, Lisa

      Reply

  11. erranttranscendentalist
    Jun 08, 2013 @ 21:41:40

    Lisa, what an exquisite poem, which really gets at the heart of radical allowing in the most sacred of human relationships. What a wonderful reminder of what it really means to say “yes”– not just to one’s partner in life, but to, in turn, the best potential within one’s self, which is often encased in protective fears, aversions and graspings. Beautiful. And, I hope you are recovering from your injury!!

    Reply

    • Lisa A. McCrohan
      Jun 10, 2013 @ 07:39:06

      Awww, Thank you, Angela! You name that so beautifully: saying yes to the best potential within our own selves… And yes, it sure is often encased in fear and the waves of aversion and grasping. I find this to be true for my own self. Your words this morning are informing my practice for the day — saying “YES” to my own self and my potential.

      I am recouping really well! It’s going to take some time but the brain/body are amaaazing in how they heal. The whole experience has been a gift for me and my family.

      Reply

Let's connect. Share your thoughts, insights, heart stirrings...

Copyright. 2013. All rights reserved. No portion of any post may be copied without written permission from the author. The advice offered herein does not constitute a substitute for professional psychological treatment, therapy, or other types of professional advice and intervention. The self-help contents are solely the opinion of the blogger and should not be considered as a form of therapy, advice, direction and/or diagnosis or treatment of any kind: medical, spiritual, mental, or other. If expert advice or counseling is needed, the services of a competent professional should be sought.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 690 other followers

